iPhone 18 Pro vs Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra

iOS against Android at the top of both line-ups: a 6.3-inch phone with three 48MP lenses and 36 hours of video playback, or a 6.9-inch one with four lenses, two telephotos and an S Pen.

Four Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra phones from the back in Cobalt Violet, Black, Sky Blue and White, showing the four-lens camera island

Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra

The short version

CriterioniPhone 18 ProSamsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
Operating systemiOS 27Android 16 with One UI 8.5
Display6.3-inch all-screen OLED Super Retina XDR, 2622 x 1206 (tall x wide) at 460 ppi; Dynamic Island, Always-On, ProMotion up to 120Hz; 3000 nits peak outdoor6.9-inch QHD+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X, 120Hz adaptive refresh rate (1-120Hz), Vision Booster; 2600 nits peak brightness
Camera system48MP Pro Fusion system: 48MP Main with variable aperture f/1.48-f/4.0 (24mm), 48MP Ultra Wide (13mm, f/2.2), 48MP Telephoto (100mm 4x, f/2.8); 18MP Center Stage front camera200MP Wide (F1.4, 2x optical-quality zoom), 50MP Ultra Wide (F1.9), 50MP Telephoto (F2.9, 5x optical and 10x optical-quality zoom), 10MP Telephoto (F2.4, 3x opt
Battery lifeVideo playback up to 36 hours; streamed video up to 33 hours; typical use up to 24 hoursVideo playback up to 31 hours; 5,000 mAh typical capacity
PriceFrom $1,199; up to $2,399 at 2TBFrom $1,399.99 (256GB); $1,599.99 at 512GB; $1,999.99 at 1TB

Which one fits

Consider iPhone 18 Pro if

  • You want the 4x telephoto and the 48MP Ultra Wide without carrying the Max
  • You are on iOS and want iOS 27 from the first day
  • You charge in short bursts — 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W adapter

Consider Samsung Galaxy S26 Ultra if

  • You want optical zoom at two focal lengths, 3x and 5x, rather than one
  • You write or sketch on your phone — the S Pen is built into the body
  • You want a published update window; Samsung states seven years of security updates

Main tradeoffs

  • A 6.3-inch body and five more hours of quoted video playbackone telephoto rather than two, and no stylus
  • Four rear cameras with 3x and 5x optical zoom, an S Pen in the body and a published seven-year security-update commitmenta 6.9-inch phone starting at $1,399.99

At a glance

CriterioniPhone 18 ProSamsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
Best forPeople already on iOS who want the full Pro camera system without carrying the MaxPeople who want optical zoom at two focal lengths and write on the screen, and are comfortable carrying a 6.9-inch, 214
PricingFrom $1,199; up to $2,399 at 2TBFrom $1,399.99; up to $1,999.99 at 1TB
PlatformiOS 27Android 16 with One UI 8.5; Samsung states seven years of security updates
Key differentiatorThe same three 48MP rear cameras and A20 Pro chip as the Pro Max, in a 6.3-inch, 211 g bodyA built-in S Pen and two telephoto lenses — 3x and 5x optical — alongside a Privacy Display that dims the screen to anyone looking from the side
CategoryPhonesPhones

Key facts

FactiPhone 18 ProSamsung Galaxy S26 Ultra
PriceFrom $1,199; up to $2,399 at 2TBFrom $1,399.99 (256GB); $1,599.99 at 512GB; $1,999.99 at 1TB
Display6.3-inch all-screen OLED Super Retina XDR, 2622 x 1206 (tall x wide) at 460 ppi; Dynamic Island, Always-On, ProMotion up to 120Hz; 3000 nits peak outdoor6.9-inch QHD+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X, 120Hz adaptive refresh rate (1-120Hz), Vision Booster; 2600 nits peak brightness
Battery lifeVideo playback up to 36 hours; streamed video up to 33 hours; typical use up to 24 hoursVideo playback up to 31 hours; 5,000 mAh typical capacity
ChipA20 Pro chip, 6-core CPU, 7-core GPU with Neural Accelerators, dual 16-core Neural EngineSnapdragon 8 Elite Gen 5 for Galaxy
Camera system48MP Pro Fusion system: 48MP Main with variable aperture f/1.48-f/4.0 (24mm), 48MP Ultra Wide (13mm, f/2.2), 48MP Telephoto (100mm 4x, f/2.8); 18MP Center Stage front camera200MP Wide (F1.4, 2x optical-quality zoom), 50MP Ultra Wide (F1.9), 50MP Telephoto (F2.9, 5x optical and 10x optical-quality zoom), 10MP Telephoto (F2.4, 3x opt
Operating systemiOS 27Android 16 with One UI 8.5
ChargingUp to 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W-capable adapter and Adjustable Voltage Supply; MagSafe and Qi2 wireless up to 25WUp to 75% in around 30 minutes with a 60W adapter; Super Fast Wireless Charging; Wireless PowerShare
Size and weight150.0 mm tall x 71.9 wide x 8.75 deep; 211 g163.6 mm tall x 78.1 wide x 7.9 deep; 214 g
Storage256GB, 512GB, 1TB, 2TB256GB and 512GB with 12GB of memory; 1TB with 16GB of memory
Water resistanceIP68, to a maximum depth of 6 metres for up to 30 minutesIP68, to a maximum depth of 1.5 metres for up to 30 minutes
Software support—Seven years of security updates

These are the phones at the top of their makers' line-ups, and most of what separates them follows from the first choice: iOS or Android. Past that, the iPhone 18 Pro is a 6.3-inch phone with three 48MP lenses and up to 36 hours of quoted video playback; the Galaxy S26 Ultra is a 6.9-inch one with four rear cameras, optical zoom at two focal lengths, an S Pen in the body and a published seven-year security-update commitment.

Overview

Two flagships, one from each ecosystem, and the ecosystem is the part most people settle first. The iPhone 18 Pro runs iOS 27 and starts at $1,199. The Galaxy S26 Ultra runs Android 16 with One UI 8.5 and starts at $1,399.99. Both are glass-and-metal slabs rated IP68, both have 120Hz displays, and both start at 256GB.

The platform decision

This is not a tiebreaker, it is the question. A phone is the thing every other device you own talks to, so the watch on your wrist, the tablet on the table and the messages your friends send all point at one of these two answers before any specification does. If you already have an answer, most of what follows is detail. If you do not, nothing below will settle it for you — it is a choice about where you want to live, not about which column is longer.

Key differences

Five things separate them once the platform is set. Size: 6.3 inches against 6.9. Cameras: three lenses against four, with one telephoto against two. Battery: Apple quotes 36 hours of video playback, Samsung 31. Software support: Samsung publishes a seven-year commitment and Apple publishes none. And price, $1,199 against $1,399.99 before any storage upgrade.

Display

Both run at 120Hz. The iPhone 18 Pro is 6.3 inches, an OLED Super Retina XDR at 2622x1206 and 460 ppi with ProMotion, Always-On and the Dynamic Island. The Galaxy S26 Ultra is 6.9 inches, a QHD+ Dynamic AMOLED 2X with an adaptive refresh rate from 1 to 120Hz and Vision Booster. Apple quotes 3000 nits peak outdoor and Samsung quotes 2600 nits peak; the two are not stated under the same condition, so each is that maker's own figure rather than a number to put side by side. The honest difference here is six-tenths of an inch of screen.

Camera

The architectures are genuinely different, and megapixels are the least useful way to see it. The iPhone 18 Pro carries three 48MP lenses: a main with a variable aperture from f/1.48 to f/4.0 at 24 mm, an ultra wide at 13 mm, and one telephoto at 100 mm, which is 4x. The Galaxy S26 Ultra carries four: a 200MP wide at F1.4, a 50MP ultra wide at F1.9, a 50MP telephoto at F2.9 which Samsung rates at 5x optical, and a 10MP telephoto at F2.4 at 3x optical. So the Samsung gives you optical zoom at two focal lengths where the Apple gives you one, and the Apple gives you a lens that can change its aperture where the Samsung does not. Which of those matters is a question about the photographs you actually take.

Battery and charging

Video playback is the one figure both makers publish under the same label: up to 36 hours for the iPhone 18 Pro, up to 31 for the Galaxy S26 Ultra. Capacity is not comparable — Samsung states a 5,000 mAh typical capacity and Apple states none — so the hours are the comparison and the milliamp-hours are not. Charging is quoted to different targets under different conditions: the iPhone reaches 50% in around 15 minutes with a 60W-capable adapter and Adjustable Voltage Supply, the Galaxy reaches 75% in around 30 minutes with a 60W adapter. Those are two different claims, not two scores.

Software support

Samsung publishes a commitment of seven years of security updates for the Galaxy S26 series. Apple publishes no equivalent minimum period for the iPhone 18 Pro. That is a difference in what the two companies state, and it is worth knowing when you are spending this much on something you intend to keep. It is not a measurement of how long either phone will actually be supported, and the absence of an Apple figure is not evidence of a shorter window.

Storage and price

Both start at 256GB. The iPhone 18 Pro goes to 2TB, at $2,399 for that configuration, and starts at $1,199. The Galaxy S26 Ultra goes to 1TB, at $1,999.99, and starts at $1,399.99; Samsung also publishes the memory each tier ships with, 12GB below 1TB and 16GB at it, which Apple does not state.

Size and water resistance

The Galaxy S26 Ultra is the larger phone by a clear margin — 163.6 mm tall and 78.1 mm wide against 150.0 by 71.9 — though it is the thinner of the two at 7.9 mm against 8.75, and the weights are within three grams of each other at 214 and 211. Both are rated IP68; Apple states a maximum depth of 6 metres for 30 minutes and Samsung states 1.5 metres for 30 minutes.

Which one may fit you better

Consider the iPhone 18 Pro if you are already on iOS, you want the longer quoted video playback, you would rather carry 6.3 inches than 6.9, or you want a main camera whose aperture changes. Consider the Galaxy S26 Ultra if you are on Android, you want optical zoom at both 3x and 5x, you write or draw on your phone and want the S Pen in the body, or a published update window matters to you.

Important considerations

The platform is the decision and everything else is a detail inside it, so if you already know which side you are on, read the column that applies to you and skip the other. If you genuinely have no preference, the two real questions are how big a phone you want to hold and whether a second telephoto is worth $200 and six-tenths of an inch. Neither of those has a right answer.

Take the next step

Related comparisons